The QMJHL unveils the Wawanesa Rookie of the Year Award

Watch more Golden Puck Awards on QMJHL TV


The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League unveiled today the 2019–2020 Rookie of the Year Trophy presented by Wawanesa Insurance. This year’s nominees were Samuel Hlavaj of the Sherbrooke Phœnix and Zachary Bolduc of the Rimouski Océanic. They were the recipients of the Raymond-Lagacé Trophy (Defensive Rookie of the Year) and Michel-Bergeron Trophy (Offensive Rookie of the Year) respectively.

The QMJHL asked a Rimouski Océanic icon to announce this year’s award-winner. Vincent Lecavalier received the Rookie of the Year Trophy himself in 1996–1997 after putting together a 102-point campaign (42 goals and 60 assists). Following his amazing rookie season, the Ile-Bizard native increased his offensive production by posting 44 goals and 71 helpers in 58 games. Furthermore, he helped his team reach the President Cup Final with 41 points in the playoffs, but his team fell to Roberto Luongo’s Foreurs in four games. After two successful years in the QMJHL, the first overall selection of the 1998 NHL Entry Draft went on to play 1,212 games in the National Hockey League with Tampa Bay, Philadelphia and Los Angeles.

More News
31 QMJHLers on NHL Central Scouting Preliminary Players to Watch List
2 hours ago
QMJHL announces updates to its schedule
20 hours ago
Vaughn Saves of the Week | October 27, 2020
1 days ago
Videotron Team of the Week | 2020-2021 | Week 4
2 days ago
QMJHL Player of the Week | Elliot Desnoyers (October 26, 2020)
2 days ago
Kia CHL Top-10 Spotlight: Foreurs digging for gold
3 days ago