Marc Bergevin announces the General Manager of the Year

Watch more Golden Puck Awards on QMJHL TV


The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League today recognized its General Manager of the Year for the 2019–2020 season. First awarded in 2005–2006, the Maurice-Filion Trophy has past winners that include Mike Kelly (Saint John Sea Dogs), Mario Pouliot (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies), Martin Mondou (Shawinigan Cataractes) and Serge Beausoleil (Rimouski Océanic). This year’s nominees for the award are Yanick Jean of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens, Jocelyn Thibault of the Sherbrooke Phœnix and Ritchie Thibeau of the Moncton Wildcats.

The QMJHL asked Marc Bergevin to present the 2019–2020 Maurice-Filion Trophy. Bergevin is currently the General Manager of the Montreal Canadiens. The Montreal native played two major junior seasons with the Chicoutimi Saguenéens, posting 75 points in 134 games. He was drafted in the third round by the Chicago Blackhawks at the 1983 NHL Entry Draft. Thereafter, the defenseman played nearly 1,200 NHL games with eight different teams. He began his management career in July 2009 when he was appointed Director of Player Personnel of the Chicago Blackhawks.

More News
Alexis Lafreniere wins CHL Top Draft Prospect of the Year Award presented by Kubota Canada
12 hours ago
2011 Memorial Cup Memories
12 hours ago
Courageous battle awaits Phoenix's Crete-Belzile
15 hours ago
2020 QMJHL Draft | Prospect Profile: Louis-Philippe Fontaine
16 hours ago
2020 QMJHL Draft | Prospect Profile: Dylan Andrews
17 hours ago
2020 QMJHL Draft | Prospect Profile: Matteo Mann
2 days ago