Coach of the Year award winner announced

Watch more Golden Puck Awards on QMJHL TV


The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League today announced the Ron-Lapointe Trophy winner. This distinction rewards the QMJHL Coach of the Year and recognizes his leadership and dedication as well as his contribution to his team’s success.

Former QMJHL forward and Saint John Sea Dogs Head Coach Gerard Gallant is today’s special presenter. The Summerside, PEI native played four seasons in the league with the Sherbrooke Castors, the Saint-Jean Castors and the Verdun Juniors between 1980 and 1983. He registered 321 points in 188 regular season games and added 90 points in the President Cup playoffs. He won two President Cups (1982 – Sherbrooke Castors | 1983 – Verdun Juniors). His amazing major junior hockey career was followed by 615 NHL games with Detroit and Tampa Bay.

After his retirement as a player, he made the jump into coaching. Following eight years behind NHL benches, he came back to the QMJHL as Head Coach of the Saint John Sea Dogs in 2009. His journey was very successful as he reached the President Cup final three times and won back-to-back titles in 2011 and 2012. Gallant also led the Sea Dogs to a Memorial Cup championship in 2011, when the city of Mississauga hosted the prestigious tournament. The 56-year-old coach won the Ron-Lapointe Trophy twice during his three-year stint in the QMJHL.

More News
2021 NHL Draft | Live Blog
16 hours ago
2021 NHL Draft | Prospect Analysis: Xavier Bourgault
2 days ago
2021 NHL Draft | Prospect Analysis: Zachary Bolduc
2 days ago
Canadian Hockey League announces new multi-year broadcast partnership
3 days ago
2021 NHL Draft | Prospect Analysis: Zachary L'Heureux
3 days ago
Twelve QMJHLers at Canada’s National Junior Team Summer Camp
3 days ago