The Golden Puck Awards: an unforgettable evening!

MONTREAL, April 6th, 2016 – The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held this evening at the elegant Hyatt-Regency Hotel located in the heart of Montreal. This year, twelve prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2015-16 season. Five junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hosted by Sportsnets’ Rob Faulds and TVA Sports’ Louis Jean, the evening was a huge success.

“This evening represents a superb gathering,” said the Commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to welcome and honour five new members to our Hall of Fame: Daniel Brière, Réal Cloutier, Ron Lapointe, Mario Marois and José Théodore. This event was made even more special as past legends receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of tomorrow. In fact some of our award winners might one day become inductees.”

The highlights from the awards ceremony will be presented on TVA Sports on April 16.

Here is the list of tonight’s winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – Goaltender with the best goals-against-average

Chase Marchand, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

The Nova Scotia native took part in 38 games, winning 29. In addition, he recorded two shutouts, maintained a save percentage of .911 and a goals against average of 2.42.

Rookie of the Year

Vitalii Abramov, Gatineau Olympiques

A native of Russia, Abramov is the rookie of the year thanks to his outstanding performances during his first season. He concluded the regular season with 93 points, including 38 goals, in 63 games with the Olympiques.

Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year

Gilles Bouchard, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

In his third year as the Huskies’ head coach, Bouchard was able to lead his team to the top of the QMJHL standings with 113 points. He was able to get the best out of his players.

Jean-Béliveau Trophy – Top Scorer

Conor Garland, Moncton Wildcats

For a second year in a row, the Moncton Wildcats’ forward wins this honour. He tallied 39 goals and 89 assists for 128 points in 62 games. He also maintained a +26 rating.

Marcel-Robert Trophy – Scholastic Player of the Year

Alexis D’Aoust, Shawinigan Cataractes

Alexis is a devoted young man on the ice and in his studies. He is currently studying in natural sciences at Shawinigan’s college.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy

Samuel Laberge, Rimouski Océanic

The game of hockey is extremely intense and competitive and passion is a key part of the sport. For most who play at this level, passion is also what drives them to make a difference in their communities. As they become role models to the next generation, they deserve to be recognized and appreciated for the outstanding work they accomplish. Laberge has been involved in many team activities as well as taking his own initiatives. He also distinguished himself by raising over $7,000 for the “Shaved heads” challenge by the Eastern Cancer Association of Quebec.

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Defenseman of the Year

Samuel Girard, Shawinigan Cataractes

The Quebec defenseman scored 10 goals added 64 assists for a total of 74 points in 67 games. He also finished the season as leading scorer among defensemen.

Frank-J.-Selke – Most sportsmanlike player

Samuel Girard, Shawinigan Cataractes

Samuel also wins most sportsmanlike player. He only spent 10 minutes in the penalty box 

Michael Bossy Trophy – Best professional prospect

Pierre-Luc Dubois, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Dubois is undoubtedly one of the best hopes for the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League in the upcoming NHL Entry Draft. In his third season in the QMJHL, he scored 42 goals added 57 assists in 62 games. He also maintaind a +40 rating.

Maurice Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year

Gilles Bouchard, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Gilles Bouchard is rewarded again. In addition to winning the Ron-Lapointe trophy, he is named the General Manager of the year for his excellent work with the 2015-16 regular season champions.

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the year

Pierre-Luc Dubois, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Dubois demonstrated exemplary behaviour during the season. He represented the Screaming Eagles and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League in a positive manner.

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player

Francis Perron, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

The Ottawa Senators’ prospect, Francis Perron, is awarded the prestigious honour of the most valuable player during the 2015-16 season.

All-Star Teams

1st All-Star Team

G               Étienne Montpetit                  (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

D               Samuel Girard                          (Shawinigan Cataractes)

D               Philippe Myers                         (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

C                Nicolas Roy                                (Chicoutimi Saguenéens)

LW            Francis Perron                          (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

RW           Conor Garland                          (Moncton Wildcats)

2nd All-Star Team

G               Julio Billia                                    (Chicoutimi Saguenéens)

D               Thomas Chabot                       (Saint John Sea Dogs)

D               Jérémy Lauzon                         (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

C                Anthony Beauregard             (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

LW            Pierre-Luc Dubois                (Cape Breton Sreaming Eagles)

RW           Alexis D’Aoust                          (Shawinigan Cataractes)

Rookie All-Star Team

G               Mathieu Bellemare                (Gatineau Olympiques)

D               Zachary Lauzon                       (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

D               Pascal Corbeil                           (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

C                Antoine Morand                      (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)

LW            Maxime Comtois                    (Victoriaville Tigres)

RW           Vitalii Abramov                        (Gatineau Olympiques)

More News
A shutout for Rouyn! Drakkar 0 Huskies 1
2 hours ago
The Armada does not how to loose anymore ! Armada 3 Saguenéens 0
2 hours ago
Val-d'Or wins at home! Océanic 2 Foreurs 4
3 hours ago
Québec wins ! Remparts 2 Olympiques 1
7 hours ago
QMJHL wrapping up successful protected environment event
9 hours ago
QMJHL announces updates to its schedule for the weekend
10 hours ago