Golden Puck Awards : the nominees are revealed!

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League unveiled today the list of finalists for the 2014-15 Golden Puck Awards. The various trophies will be awarded at the annual event which will be held at the Hyatt-Regency Hotel in Montreal on April 8th.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player

Ehlers, Nikolaj – Halifax Mooseheads

Garland, Conor – Moncton Wildcats

Martel, Danick – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada


Rookie of the Year

Girard, Samuel – Shawinigan Cataractes

Timashov, Dmytro – Québec Remparts


Émile « Butch » Bouchard Trophy – Best Defenseman

Brouillard, Nikolas – Québec Remparts

Kostalek, Jan – Rimouski Océanic

Walcott, Daniel – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada


Frank-J.-Selke Trophy – Sportsman of the Year

Farrell, Kyle – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Schweri, Kay – Sherbrooke Phoenix

Talbot-Tassi, Dominic – Moncton Wildcats


Michael-Bossy Trophy – Top Professional Prospect

Meier, Timo – Halifax Mooseheads

Svechnikov, Evgeny – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Zboril, Jakub – Saint John Sea Dogs


Marcel-Robert Trophy – Scholastic Player of the Year

Bois, Redgie – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Grégoire, Jérémy – Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Talbot-Tassi, Dominic  – Moncton Wildcats


Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year

Beausoleil, Serge – Rimouski Océanic

Bouchard, Joël – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Rumble, Darren – Moncton Wildcats


Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year

Beausoleil, Serge – Rimouski Océanic

Mondou, Martin – Shawinigan Cataractes

Shannon, Roger – Moncton Wildcats


Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the Year

Ehlers, Nikolaj – Halifax Mooseheads

Fucale, Zachary – Québec Remparts

Meier, Timo – Halifax Mooseheads


Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy presented by the Public Relations firm NATIONAL

Ciampini, Luca – Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Martel, Danick – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Pomerleau, Tristan – Victoriaville Tigres


Please note that the following trophies will be awarded at special pre-game ceremonies held at the beginning of the playoffs: Raymond-Lagacé (Defensive Rookie of the year), Michel-Bergeron (Offensive Rookie of the Year), Guy-Carbonneau (Best Defensive Forward), Kevin-Lowe (Best Defensive Defenseman), Robert-Lebel (Best goals-against-average – Team), Jean-Rougeau (Regular Season Champions) and Luc-Robitaille (Best Offensive Team).

Here are the nominees:

Raymond-Lagacé Trophy – Defensive Rookie of the Year

Girard, Samuel – Shawinigan Cataractes

Green, Luke – Saint John Sea Dogs

Zboril, Jakub – Saint John Sea Dogs


Michel-Bergeron Trophy – Offensive Rookie of the Year

Chlapik, Filip – Charlottetown Islanders

Svechnikov, Evgeny – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

Timashov, Dmytro – Québec Remparts


Guy-Carbonneau Trophy – Best defensive forward

Gauthier, Frédérik – Rimouski Océanic

Jevpalovs, Nikita – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Loiseau, Alexis – Rimouski Océanic


Kevin-Lowe Trophy – Best defensive defenseman

Bourque, Simon – Rimouski Océanic

Kostalek, Jan – Rimouski Océanic

Walcott, Daniel – Blainville-Boisbriand Armada


The John-Horman (Administrator of the Year), Jean-Sawyer (Marketing Director of the Year) and Denis Arsenault (Academic Consultant of the Year) trophies will be awarded at the Annual Entry Draft in Sherbrooke. The finalists will be revealed at a later date.

You can follow all the action on April 8th on Twitter #goldenpuck.

More News
The losing streak is over! Huskies 2 Phœnix 3
22 mins ago
Four goals in the third for Drummondville! Voltigeurs 7 Armada 3
4 hours ago
Québec wins! Remparts 3 Drakkar 2
5 hours ago
Robitaille wins against his former team! Tigres 2 Olympiques 5
5 hours ago
Eagles, Islanders & Mooseheads back in action next week
8 hours ago
Fan of the Week | Felix Castonguay (Armada)
10 hours ago