Eleven goaltenders from Quebec and the Maritimes invited to 10th annual Program of Excellence goaltending camp

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced Monday the group of 34 netminders that will attend the 10th annual Program of Excellence goaltending camp, June 12-14 at Canlan Ice Sports in Etobicoke, Ont.

Nine goaltenders in the under-20 age category (candidates for Canada’s National Junior Team), seven in the under-18 category (candidates for Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team) and 18 goaltenders in the under-17 category (candidates for the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge) will get a chance to work with a number of instructors during the three-day camp.


UNDER-20 GOALTENDERS (1996-1997)

Mackenzie Blackwood                             Thunder Bay, Ont.                      Barrie (OHL)

Callum Booth                                         Montreal, Que.                         Quebec (QMJHL)

Evan Cormier                                         Bowmanville, Ont.                     Saginaw (OHL)

Adin Hill                                                Calgary, Alta.                            Portland (WHL)

Mason McDonald                                     Halifax, N.S.                             Charlottetown (QMJHL)

Michael McNiven                                     Georgetown, Ont.                      Owen Sound (OHL)

Samuel Montembault                              Quebec City, Que.                      Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL)

Jordan Papirny                                       Edmonton, Alta.                         Brandon (WHL)

Zach Sawchenko                                    Calgary, Alta.                            Moose Jaw (WHL)



Evan Fitzpatrick                                      St. John’s, N.L.                          Sherbrooke (QMJHL)

Carter Hart                                            Sherwood Park, Alta.                 Everett (WHL)

Samuel Harvey                                       Alma, Que.                               Rouyn-Noranda (QMJHL)

Ryan Kubic                                            Winnipeg, Man.                          Brookings (NAHL)

Joseph Raaymakers                                Chatham, Ont.                           Sault Ste. Marie (OHL)

Stuart Skinner                                        Edmonton, Alta.                         Lethbridge (WHL)

Dylan Wells                                           St. Catharines, Ont.                    Peterborough (OHL)



Hunter Arps                                           Pleasantdale, Sask.                    Moose Jaw (SMAAAHL)

Déreck Baribeau                                     Quebec City, Que.                      Seminaire St-Francois (LHMAAAQ)

Brendan Bonello                                     Toronto, Ont.                            Toronto Titans (GTHL)

Zachary Bouthillier                                 Chambly, Que.                          Collège Antoine-Girouard (LHMAAAQ)

Alex D’Orio                                           Sherbrooke, Que.                       Magog (LHMAAAQ)

Michael DiPietro                                     Amherstburg, Ont.                     Sun County (MHAO)

Jordan Hollett                                        Langley, B.C.                            Okanagan Hockey Academy (CSSHL)

Aidan Hughes                                         London, Ont.                             London (MHAO)

Colton Incze                                          Oakville, Ont.                            Mississauga (GTHL)

Kyle Jessiman                                        Montreal, Que.                          Châteauguay (LHMAAAQ)

Jacob McGrath                                       Mississauga, Ont.                        Toronto Marlboros (GTHL)

Barrett Mundell                                      Erin, Ont.                                  Vaughan (GTHL)

Anthony Popovich                                   Belleville, Ont.                          Quinte (OMHA-ETA)

Luke Richardson                                     Barrie, Ont.                               North Central (OMHA-ETA)

Ian Scott                                                Calgary, Alta.                            Calgary Northstars (AMHL)

Jacob Stewart                                        Quispamsis, N.B.                        Saint John (NBPEIMMHL)

Dawson Weatherill                                 Red Deer, Alta.                          Notre Dame Argos (SMAAAHL)

Matthew Welsh                                       Halifax, N.S.                             Halifax (NSMMMHL)



“We have tremendous goaltending talent across the country; this opportunity to bring them together for a three-day camp is key in the success of their ongoing growth and development,” said Fred Brathwaite, Program of Excellence goaltending consultant with Hockey Canada. “This is an excellent opportunity for not only the players, but all of our staff and coaches to come together for instruction and development both on and off the ice.”

The camp includes both on and off-ice sessions with instruction from Frédéric Chabot (Hockey Canada), Ryan Cyr (Spokane, WHL), Paul Drew (Charlottetown, QMJHL), Ian Gordon (Seattle, WHL), Mike Rosati (Barrie, OHL), Paul Schonfelder (Ottawa, OHL), Maxime Vaillancourt (Blainville-Boisbriand, QMJHL) and Andrew Verner (Peterborough, OHL).

Also included in the three-day camp are members of Hockey Canada’s goaltending advisory board, who will work with the players and instructors: Corey Hirsch (Hockey Canada), Brady Robinson (Victoria, WHL), Dwayne Roloson (Anaheim, NHL), Mike Valley (Dallas, NHL) and Rick Wamsley (Ottawa, NHL).

Wamsley and Chabot will serve as leads for the U17 goaltenders, with assistance from Cyr, Gordon and Schonfelder, while the U18s and U20s will be led by Brathwaite, with assistance from Drew, Rosati, Vaillancourt and Verner.

For more information on Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, please visit or follow along via social media and

More News
Under the Microscope | NHL Prospect of March: Thimo Nickl
11 hours ago
Salute to our 20-Year-Olds | Central Division
12 hours ago
Road to the 2020 NHL Draft | March’s QMJHL Top 10
15 hours ago
Alexis Lafrenière is the 2019–2020 recipient of the Jean-Béliveau Trophy presented by Kubota
1 days ago
Lafrenière and Sokolov sensational seasons acknowledged
1 days ago
Salute to our 20-Year-Olds | East Division
2 days ago