The Golden Puck Awards: an unforgettable evening!

MONTREAL, April 2nd, 2014 – The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held this evening at the elegant Hyatt-Regency Hotel located in the heart of Montreal. This year, twelve prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2013-14 season. Four junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame, presented by RDS.

Hosted by TVA Sports’ Louis Jean and Rob Faulds, the evening was a huge success.

“This evening represents a superb gathering,” said the Commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to welcome and honour four new members to our Hall of Fame: Gerard Gallant, Jean-Luc Phaneuf, Normand Caisse and Patrice Brisebois. This event was made even more special as past legends receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of tomorrow. In fact some of our award winners might one day become future inductees.”

Here is the list of tonight’s winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – Goalie with the best goals-against-average
Zachary Fucale, Halifax Mooseheads
The Terrebonne native played in 50 games of which he won 36. Moreover, he registered six shutouts and maintained a 0.907 save percentage and a league-best 2.26 goals-against-average.

RDS Cup – Rookie of the Year
Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads
Ehlers captured the RDS Cup thanks to his remarkable performances during his rookie year. He is highly touted by many as being a strong prospect for the next NHL Entry Draft.
Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year
Éric Veilleux, Baie-Comeau Drakkar
Veilleux brought his team to the forefront of the general standings with a total of 99 points. He led his team masterfully, getting the most out of each of his players.

Jean Béliveau Trophy – Top Scorer
Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs
The Val-d’Or Foreurs forward scored 57 goals and added 63 assists for a total of 120 points in 57 games. He also maintained a +/- differential of +34.

Marcel-Robert Trophy –TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year
Jérémy Grégoire, Baie-Comeau Drakkar
Grégoire is a determined young man both on and off the ice. He is currently taking humanities/administration courses with the firm intention to finish his CEGEP.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy presented by NATIONAL Public Relations
Charles-David Beaudoin, Drummondville Voltigeurs
Beaudoin was involved in his community from the beginning of his junior career; however he outdid himself this year. His great work and dedication earned him the prestigious award.

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Defenseman of the Year
Guillaume Gélinas, Val-d’Or Foreurs
The Quebec native defenseman scored 23 goals and added 69 assists for an impressive total of 92 points in 67 games. Gélinas also posted a +/- differential of +24.

Frank-J.-Selke – Most sportsmanlike player
Frédérick Gaudreau, Drummondville Voltigeurs and Shawinigan Cataractes
With a total of 71 points, including 32 goals, but what sets Gaudreau apart for this honour was the lack of penalties he gathered during the season, 2 minutes.

Michael-Bossy Trophy – Best professional prospect
Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads
Ehlers is one of the greatest prospects of the QMJHL for the next NHL Entry Draft. He had an incredible rookie season with 104 points, including 49 goals and 55 assists in only 63 games. He also maintained a +/- differential of +65.

Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year
Steve Ahern, Baie-Comeau Drakkar
Steve Ahern was awarded the General Manager of the year for his excellent work with the Drakkar. He was able to present a highly competitive team that won the Jean-Rougeau Trophy (Regular season Champions) and the Robert-Lebel Trophy (Best team goal against average).

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the year
Zachary Fucale, Halifax Mooseheads
Fucale showed leadership and was a great ambassador for the QMJHL all through the season. He was able to positively showcase the Mooseheads organisation as well as the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. He performed at a high level during the World Junior Championships in Malmo and the Subway Super Series against the Russian prospects.

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs
On top of getting the Jean-Béliveau Trophy, Anthony Mantha was also named the most valuable player for the 2013-14 season.
All-Star Teams

1st All-Star Team

G – Philippe Cadorette (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
D – Guillaume Gélinas (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
D – Randy Gazzola (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
C – Jonathan Drouin (Halifax Mooseheads)
LW – Anthony Duclair (Quebec Remparts)
RW – Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

2nd All-Star Team

G – Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)
D – Justin Haché (Cape-Breton Screaming Eagles)
D – Mackenzie Weegar (Halifax Mooseheads)
C – Cameron Darcy (Cape-Breton Screaming Eagles)
LW – Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)
RW – Marcus Power (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Rookie All-Star Team

G –  Callum Booth (Quebec Remparts)
D – Jérémy Roy (Sherbrooke Phoenix)
D – Nicolas Meloche (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
C – Alexandre Goulet (Charlottetown Islanders)
LW – Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)
RW – Daniel Sprong (Charlottetown Islanders)

More News
Order of Selections for 2022 CHL Import Draft announced
1 days ago
2022 Memorial Cup All-Star Team
1 days ago
2022 Memorial Cup | Saint John Post-Final - Staff Reactions
1 days ago
2022 Memorial Cup | Saint John Post-Final Interviews
1 days ago
Highlights | Saint John 6-3 Hamilton - June 29, 2022
2 days ago
2022 Memorial Cup | Recap of the Final – Hamilton vs. Saint John
2 days ago