The Golden Puck Awards: an unforgettable evening!

The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held this evening at the elegant Hyatt-Regency Hotel located in the heart of Montreal. This year, twelve prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2012-13 season. Four junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame, presented by RDS.

Hosted by TVA Sports’ Louis Jean and Maxim Martin, the evening was a huge success.

“This evening represents a superb gathering,” said the Commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to welcome and honour four new members to our Hall of Fame: Jean-Claude Morrissette, Marc Saumier, Félix Potvin and Sylvain Côté. This event was made even more special as past legends receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of tomorrow. In fact some of our award winners might one day become future inductees.”

Here is the list of tonight’s winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – Goalie with the best goals-against-average
Étienne Marcoux, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada
The Terrebonne native played in 42 games of which he won 27. Moreover, he registered four shutouts and maintained a 0.913 save percentage and a league-best 2.14 goals-against-average.

RDS Cup – Rookie of the Year
Valentin Zykov, Baie-Comeau Drakkar
Zykov captured the RDS Cup thanks to his remarkable performances during his rookie year. He is highly touted by many as being a strong prospect for the next NHL Entry Draft.
Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year
Dominique Ducharme, Halifax Mooseheads
Ducharme brought his team to the forefront of the general standings with an impressive total of 120 points. He led his team masterfully, getting the most out of each of his players. He was instrumental in making the Mooseheads one of the best junior teams in the country.

Jean Béliveau Trophy – Top Scorer
Ben Duffy, Prince-Edouard-Island Rocket
The PEI Rocket forward scored 39 goals and added 71 assists for a total of 110 points in 68 games. He also maintained a +/- differential of +17.

Marcel-Robert Trophy –TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year
Charles-David Beaudoin, Drummondville Voltigeurs
Beaudoin is a determined young man both on and off the ice. After completing high school, he took humanities/administration courses with the firm intention to finish his CEGEP in only two years. In order to accomplish this, Charles-David took distance-learning courses and summer classes on top of his regular course work.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy presented by NATIONAL Public Relations
Konrad Abeltshauser, Halifax Mooseheads
Abeltshauser was involved in his community from the beginning of his junior career; however he outdid himself this year. His great work and dedication earned him the prestigious award.

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Defenseman of the Year
Kevin Gagné, Rimouski Océanic and Saint John Sea Dogs
The Edmundston native defenseman scored 17 goals and added 54 assists for an impressive total of 71 points in 62 games. Gagné also posted a +/- differential of +11. Kevin Gagné just signed his first professional contract with the Anaheim Ducks.


Frank-J.-Selke – Most sportsmanlike player
Zach O’Brien, Acadie-Bathurst Titan
For a second consecutive season, Zach O’Brien wins the Frank-J.-Selke trophy. With a total of 92 points, including 47 goals, O’Brien is an impact player for the Titan, but what set him apart for this honour was the lack of penalties he gathered during his career. He got his first and only penalty this season.


Michael-Bossy Trophy – Best professional prospect
Jonathan Drouin, Halifax Mooseheads
Jonathan Drouin is one of the greatest prospects of the QMJHL for the next NHL Entry Draft. With an incredible career high of 105 points, including 41 goals and 64 assists in only 49 games, he led the Mooseheads to the top spot in the League standings. He also maintained a +/- differential of +49.

Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year
Philippe Boucher, Rimouski Oceanic
Philippe Boucher was awarded the General Manager of the year for his excellent work with the Oceanic. He was able to present a young and highly competitive team despite numerous injuries to key players.

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the year
Jonathan Drouin, Halifax Mooseheads

Drouin showed leadership and was a great ambassador for the QMJHL all through the season. He was able to positively showcase the Mooseheads organisation as well as the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. He performed at a high level during the World Junior Championships in Ufa and the Subway Super Serie against the Russian prospects.

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Jonathan Drouin, Halifax Mooseheads
On top of getting the Michael Bossy and Paul Dumont trophies, Jonathan Drouin was also named the most valuable player for the 2012-13 season.

All-Star Teams

1st All-Star Team

G – Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)
D – Kevin Gagné (Rimouski Océanic/Saint John Sea Dogs)
D – Xavier Ouellet (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
C – Josh Currie (Prince-Edouard-Island Rocket)
LW – Jonathan Drouin (Halifax Mooseheads)
RW – Dmitrij Jaskin (Moncton Wildcats)

2nd All-Star Team

G – Étienne Marcoux (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
D – Mathieu Brisebois (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
D – Konrad Abeltshauser (Halifax Mooseheads)
C – Nathan MacKinnon (Halifax Mooseheads)
LW – Peter Trainor (Rimouski Océanic)
RW – Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
Rookie All-Star Team

G – Philippe Desrosiers (Rimouski Océanic)
D – Jan Kostalek (Rimouski Océanic)
D – Mackenzie Weegar (Halifax Mooseheads)
C – Frédérik Gauthier (Rimouski Océanic)
LW – Ivan Barbashev (Moncton Wildcats)
RW – Valentin Zykov (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

More News
Vaughn Saves of the Week | 2021-2022 (Week 3)
44 mins ago
CHL Team of the Week (Oct. 11-17, 2021)
1 hour ago
Videotron Team of the Week | 2021-2022 | Week 3
22 hours ago
QMJHL Player of the Week | Félix Lafrance (October 18, 2021)
1 days ago
Bathurst wins at home! Islanders 3 Titan 4
1 days ago
Shutout for Louchard! Saguenéens 4 Drakkar 0
2 days ago