The 18 finalists announced for 2022-2023 Marcel-Robert Trophy


The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League began its 2023 Golden Puck Award nominations today by releasing each team’s nominee for the 2023 Marcel-Robert Trophy. This honour is awarded annually to the player who best combines on-ice performance with academic success.

Each player selected by his team receives a $400 bursary. The three finalists will receive an additional $600 bursary and the Scholastic Player of the Year will be awarded a $1,500 scholarship, along with the Marcel-Robert Trophy.

“Once again, teams provided excellent candidates and the selection of the three finalists was very challenging for the committee,” said Natacha Llorens, Director of Player Services. “Our student-athletes are disciplined, persevering and demonstrate terrific organizational skills in their pursuit of academic success. They were also able to count on the outstanding support of their teachers, scholastic partners, and academic advisors throughout the season. It certainly contributed to their success in school. On behalf of the league, I want to congratulate the 18 candidates who were selected as their team’s Scholastic Player of the Year”.

An independent selection committee will interview the three Marcel-Robert Trophy finalists on April 12, 2023. This committee will evaluate their academic and athletic accomplishments, in addition to their critical thinking skills and knowledge of current events. They will then determine the award winner based on this evaluation.

The selection committee is comprised of:

  • Sébastien Fyfe – President of the Marcel-Robert Trophy Committee and General Manager of Alliance Sport-Études and Fondation Sport-Études;
  • Lyne Chantal Boudreau, Professor of Educational Administration and Researcher at Université de Moncton, Educational Consultant and Speaker at EL2ES Inc;
  • Simon Gagné – Former player and lawyer at Lavery, De Billy;
  • Mikaël Lalancette – Sports Journalist at Le Soleil, host, columnist and author.


List of 2022-2023 nominees:

Titan, Acadie-Bathurst — Cole Larkin
Drakkar, Baie-Comeau — Anthony Lavoie
Armada, Blainville-Boisbriand — Mikaël Denis
Eagles, Cape Breton — Charles Boutin
Islanders, Charlottetown — Keiran Gallant
Saguenéens, Chicoutimi – Jonathan Desrosiers
Voltigeurs, Drummondville — Sam Oliver
Olympiques, Gatineau — Vincent Maisonneuve
Mooseheads, Halifax — Mathieu Cataford
Wildcats, Moncton — Connor Trenholm
Remparts, Québec — Charle Truchon
Océanic, Rimouski — Julien Béland
Huskies, Rouyn-Noranda — François-James Buteau
Sea Dogs, Saint John — Olivier Brideau
Cataractes, Shawinigan — Alexis Bonefon
Phœnix, Sherbrooke — Christophe Rondeau
Foreurs, Val-d’Or — Nathan Drapeau
Tigres, Victoriaville — Maxime Pellerin

More News
The QMJHL unveils 2023-2024 regular season schedule
2 days ago
Two standout QMJHL officials at the 2023 Memorial Cup
2 days ago
May 30 | Highlights of the Remparts 4-2 loss to the Petes
2 days ago
Quebec Remparts Reactions - Game 3
2 days ago
Petes hand Remparts first loss at 2023 Memorial Cup
2 days ago
Report of the Commission on Culture and Education - Statement from the QMJHL
3 days ago