NHL Return to Play: QMJHL alumni on Western Conference rosters


A total of 35 QMJHL alumni have been invited to training camps in the NHL’s Western Conference as teams were permitted to resume practicing back on July 13 in preparation for the fourth phase of the NHL’s Return to Play plan.

Teams from the Western Conference set to compete in the 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers include the Arizona Coyotes, Calgary Flames, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Edmonton Oilers, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues, Vancouver Canucks, Vegas Golden Knights and Winnipeg Jets.

These Western Conference playoff teams include representatives from 15 of the 18 current QMJHL franchises, as well as players who suited up for the following teams that have since been dissolved, relocated or renamed; the Lewiston MAINEiacs, the Montreal Juniors, the P.E.I. Rocket and the St. John’s Fog Devils.

With a total of six skaters currently at camp, the Winnipeg Jets have the most QMJHL alumni on their roster. On the flip side, the Minnesota Wild have no ex-QMJHL players attending camp.

With the Stanley Cup Qualifiers scheduled to kick off on August 1, Western Conference teams are getting ready to travel to Edmonton, Alberta on July 26th to officially launch Phase 4.

Below is a full list of the QMJHL alumni on the 12 Western Conference teams getting ready for the 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers. Both NHL teams and their players are listed in alphabetical order.


Arizona Coyotes (3):
Michael Chaput – Lewiston / Shawinigan
Conor Garland – Moncton
Jason Demers – Moncton / Victoriaville

Calgary Flames (1)
Michael Frolik – Rimouski

Chicago Blackhawks (4):
Nicolas Beaudin – Drummondville
Corey Crawford – Moncton
Matthew Highmore – Saint John
Philipp Kurashev – Quebec

Colorado Avalanche (4):
Mark Barberio – Cape Breton / Moncton
Samuel Girard – Shawinigan
Ryan Graves – P.E.I. / Charlottetown / Val-d’Or / Quebec
Nathan MacKinnon – Halifax

Dallas Stars (1):
Alexander Radulov – Quebec

Edmonton Oilers (1):
Olivier Rodrigue – Drummondville / Moncton

Minnesota Wild (0)

Nashville Predators (2):
Alexandre Carrier – Gatineau
Yakov Trenin – Gatineau

St. Louis Blues (5):
Jake Allen – St.John’s / Montreal / Drummondville
Ivan Barbashev – Moncton
Samuel Blais – Victoriaville / Charlottetown
David Perron – Lewiston
Marco Scandella – Val-d’Or

Vancouver Canucks (4):
Guillaume Brisebois – Acadie-Bathurst / Charlottetown
Louis Domingue – Moncton / Quebec
Zack MacEwen – Moncton / Gatineau
Antoine Roussel – Chicoutimi

Vegas Golden Knights (4):
William Carrier – Cape Breton / Drummondville
Marc-André Fleury – Cape Breton
Jonathan Marchessault – Quebec
Nicolas Roy – Chicoutimi

Winnipeg Jets (6):
Nathan Beaulieu – Saint John
Gabriel Bourque – Baie-Comeau / Moncton
Nikolaj Ehlers – Halifax
Dmitry Kulikov – Drummondville
Mathieu Perreault – Acadie-Bathurst
Logan Shaw – Cape-Breton / Quebec

More News
The Fenplast Rising Stars | Alexandre Lefebvre
19 hours ago
Our Alumni | Louis-Philippe Sévigny adapts to every situation
2 days ago
Many QMJHL players among 2020-2021 NHL opening night rosters
2 days ago
The 2020 Dr. Sylvain Simard Award recipients unveiled
2 days ago
Former Foreurs Therapist Aims for the Peak of the Game in the Rockies
3 days ago
Kia CHL Top-10 Spotlight: Islanders sinking the competition
3 days ago