Inside the Numbers for Game 5 & 6 of the 2015 President Cup Final

There’s been all kinds of twists and turns in this the 46th President Cup final. With the Remparts and Oceanic having each earned a pair of wins on each other rinks, the series is now deadlocked 2-2. Here are a few numbers that might interest you as this exciting series builds up to its thrilling conclusion.


  • One out of three – A QMJHL final series that needed to go six or seven games has now happened 17 times in league history. That means that 37% of all President Cup finals have required a sixth or seventh game. Coming into this spring, the Q final has gone to a seventh and deciding game eight times (17.7%). The Val-d’Or Foreurs were the last team to win the title in seven games when they downed Baie-Comeau last year.
  • Rimouski – In the 2015 playoffs to date, the Oceanic has been rock-solid on the penalty kill at 88%, having allowed only 10 goals, including only three against the Remparts so far.
  • Anthony Duclair (Quebec) – He’s the leading scorer on both teams with already eight points (three goals and five assists). This spring, 88% of his production (21/24pts) has come at even strength.
  • Michael Joly (Rimouski) – He is having a great series with four goals in four games to lead the way in this series. He also leads his team in points (6) and plus-minus (+4).


  • Winning streak on the road – The Remparts and Oceanic have been quite impressive on the road this spring to say the least. As seen in the table below, the Oceanic could match a league record for consecutive wins on the road in one playoff year with 10, as Rimouski is now 9-0 away from home this spring. The Remparts meanwhile will need a win in Games 5 and 7 to also reach that magic mark of 10, since they are riding an eight-game road win streak of their own.

Plus longue séquence de victoires en séries à l’étranger, par une équipe de la LHJMQ

Rank Team Season Start Date End Date Record
1 Saint John Sea Dogs 10-11 2011-03-29 2011-05-15 10
2 Rimouski Océanic 14-15 2015-03-31 active 9
3 Drummondville Voltigeurs 08-09 2009-03-24 2009-05-06 8
Québec Remparts 14-15 2015-04-02 active 8
5 Laval Titan du Collège Français 94-95 1995-03-22 1995-04-21 7
Hull Olympiques 02-03 2003-03-25 2003-05-02 7


  • Louis-Philip Guindon (Rimouski) – avec sa « minuscule » moyenne de buts alloués de 1,57, il est en route pour établir un nouveau record de la LHJMQ, puisque la marque à battre en séries d’une même année est de 1,96 (David Tremblay | Gatineau | 2004)… Robert Desjardins (1,99 | Hull | 1986) est le seul autre cerbère ayant déjà maintenu une moyenne inférieure à 2,00 dans l’histoire des séries de la ligue… Ce record considère les gardiens ayant participé à un minimum de 480 minutes de jeu, soit l’équivalent de 8 rencontres.
  • Louis-Philip Guindon (Rimouski) – With his microscopic goals against average of 1.57, he is cruising his way to a new QMJHL playoff record with the current mark of 1.96 in his sights. That record, for now, belongs to David Tremblay who set it with Gatineau in 2004. The only other goalie in league history to have a posted a GAA under 2.00 in the playoffs was Robert Desjardins (1.99 | Hull | 1986). This record includes only goalies to have played at least eight games or 480 minutes in any one playoff year.
  • Guindon is not done there – The Oceanic record for most wins in one playoff season is 12 held by Cédrick Desjardins and Sébastien Caron. It’s a record within reach for Guindon who only needs two more victories. In the table below you will also discover that his save percentage is also among the best in history behind all-time leader Corey Crawford (.938 | Moncton | 2004).

Meilleur pourcentage d`arrêts par un gardien de la LHJMQ en séries d’une même année (Minimum 480 minutes de jeu)

Rank Goaltender Team Season Record
1 Corey Crawford Moncton 03-04 0.938
2 Nicola Riopel Moncton 08-09 0.936
Louis-Philip Guindon Rimouski 14-15 (active) 0.936
4 William (Billy) Smith Cornwall 69-70 0.935
5 Mathieu Poitras Rouyn-Noranda 03-04 0.934
Jean-Sébastien Giguère Halifax 94-95 0.934

Plus de victoires par un gardien de l’Océanic en séries d’une même année

Rank Goaltender Team Season Record
1 Sébastien Caron Rimouski 99-00 12
Cédrick Desjardins Rimouski 04-05 12
3 Jean-Marc Pelletier Rimouski 97-98 11
Louis-Philip Guindon Rimouski 14-15 (active) 11
5 Jacob Gervais-Chouinard Rimouski 11-12 10


Rimouski-Quebec Game 6 on Sunday, May 17

  • Serge Beausoleil (Rimouski) – When the puck drops for Game 6, he will have coached in his 57th playoff game for the Oceanic, tying him with none other than Doris Labonte.

Plus de parties dirigées à vie en séries avec l’Océanic de Rimouski

Rank Head coach Team Season Record
1 Doris Labonté Rimouski 97-98 >> 06-07 57
2 Serge Beausoleil Rimouski 11-12 >> 14-15 55
3 Clément Jodoin Rimouski 07-08 >> 10-11 39


  • Québec – toujours le le 17 mai, si les Remparts emplissent le Colisée avec au moins 8200 de leurs partisans, ils surpasseront ainsi la marque des 100000 spectateurs en séries de fin de saison pour la 4e fois de leur histoire. Avant le 6e match, leur décompte était de 91824. Leur record d’équipe de 153869 spectateurs, remontant aux séries 2006…
  • Quebec City – Still on the May 17 front, if the Remparts manage to draw at least 8,200 fans to the Colisee that night, they will surpass the 100,000 attendance mark in a season for the fourth time in their history. Heading into Game 6, they were at 91,824. The all-time record was set in 2006 when they drew 153,869.


  • Zachary Fucale – Gunning for his second President’s Cup title, only two other goalie have ever turned the trick of winning two Q championships on different teams in as many tries. Those were Robert Desjardins (1986 with Hull | 1987 with Longueuil) and Roberto Luongo (1998 with Val-d’Or | 1999 with Acadie Bathurst).
  • Rimouski – This storied franchise joined the QMJHL in 1969 when they used to call Sherbrooke their home and they were known as the Castors. They were a powerhouse in the 1970s, winning three championships over their six appearances from 1975 to 1982. The team would then spend 13 seasons in St-Jean-sur-Richelieu before finally landing in Rimouski. The overall franchise has thus reached the President’s Cup final 11 times in 46 years, breaking the record of 10 set by Gatineau and Acadie-Bathurst. Rimouski is now in its fifth final, having won it all on two occasions.


File of past Champions of the President Cup and the winners of the Guy Lafleur Trophy

More News
2018 NHL Draft Preview: Top 3 QMJHL Goaltenders
3 days ago
2018 NHL Draft Preview: Top 3 QMJHL Defencemen
3 days ago
2018 NHL Draft Preview: Top 3 QMJHL Forwards
3 days ago
Filip Zadina, ready for prime time
4 days ago
NHL Draft: Nathan MacKinnon
4 days ago
Noah Dobson, a star on the rise
5 days ago