The Golden Puck Awards: recognition of excellence

The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held this evening at the elegant Hyatt-Regency Hotel located in the heart of Montreal. This year, twelve prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2011-12 season. Five junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame, presented by RDS.

Hosted by Sportsnet’s Rob Faulds and Louis Jean, the evening went off without a hitch.

“This evening is a superb occasion to gather,” said the commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to honour five new members to our Hockey Hall of Fame: Pierre Sévigny, Charles Henry, Steve Duchesne, Michel Goulet and Richard Brodeur. This event was made even more special because these legends received the recognition they deserved for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of this season. In fact some of our award winners might one day become future inductees.”

Here is the list of tonight’s winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – goalie with the best individual average

Mathieu Corbeil, Saint John Sea Dogs

The native Montrealer participated in 48 games of which he won 37. Moreover, he registered six shutouts and maintained a 0.911 efficiency percentage and a 2.38 goals against average.


RDS Cup – Rookie of the Year

Mikhail Grigorenko, Québec Remparts

Grigorenko captured the RDS Cup thanks to his remarkable performances during his rookie year.


Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the year

Jean-François Houle, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Houle hoisted his team at the forefront of the TELUS Western division and third overall in scoring with 86 points. He led his team masterfully, making the most of each of his players, in this, the first year of club’s existence.


Jean Béliveau Trophy – Top Scorer

Yanni Gourde, Victoriaville Tigres

The Victoriaville Tigres’ forward scored 37 goals and added 87 assists for a total of 124 points in 68 games. He also maintained a +/- of +29.


Marcel-Robert Trophy –TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year

Jonathan Brunelle, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles

On top of maintaining an exemplary academic file, Brunelle is also a role model for his teammates just as much off as on the ice.


Humanitarian and community involvement Trophy presented by the Public Relations FIRM NATIONAL

Vincent Barnard, Quebec Remparts

Barnard was involved in his community from the beginning of his junior career, however he outdid himself this year. Hi great work earned him the Humanitarian award.


Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Best defenseman

Jérôme Gauthier-Leduc, Rimouski Océanic

The defenseman scored 28 goals and added 46 assists for a total of 74 points in 62 games. Gauthier-Leduc also got an impressive +/- of +41.


Frank-J.-Selke – Most sportsmanlike player

Zach O’Brien, Acadie-Bathurst Titan

With a total of 101 points, including 50 goals, O’Brien is without a doubt an excellent player. However what sets him apart is that fact that he has had no penalty minutes since the beginning of his junior career.


Michael-Bossy Trophy – Best professional prospect

Mikhail Grigorenko – Quebec Remparts

On top of winning the RDS Cup, Grigorenko also wins the Michael-Bossy Trophy. In 59 games, he scored 40 goals and added 45 assists for a total of 85 points with a +/- of +35.


Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year

Joël Bouchard, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Joël Bouchard was named General Manager of the year for his excellent work with the Armada. He was able to attract crowds whilst organizing his team in record time this season.


Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the year

Jonathan Huberdeau – Saint John Sea Dogs

Huberdeau showed leadership and an exemplary behaviour during the season. He was able to positively showcase the Sea Dogs organisation as well as the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.


Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player

Yanni Gourde, Victoriaville Tigres

On top of getting the Jean Béliveau Trophy, Yanni Gourde was also named the most valuable player of his team for the 2011-12 season.


All-Star Teams


1st All Star Team

G – Roman Will (Moncton Wildcats)

D – Jérôme Gauthier Leduc (Rimouski Océanic)

D – Xavier Ouellet (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

C – Mikhail Grigorenko (Quebec Remparts)

LW – Yanni Gourde (Victoriaville Tigres)

RW – Frédérick Roy (Quebec Remparts)


2nd All Star Team

G – Mathieu Corbeil (Saint John Sea Dogs)

D – Morgan Ellis (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles and Shawinigan Cataractes)

D – Nathan Beaulieu (Saint John Sea Dogs)

C – Zach O’Brien (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)

LW – Jonathan Huberdeau (Saint John Sea Dogs)

RW – Sébastien Trudeau (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)


Rookie All-Star Team

G – Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)

D – Nikolas Brouillard (Drummondville Voltigeurs)

D – Samuel Morin (Rimouski Océanic)

C – Mikhail Grigorenko (Remparts de Quebec)

LW – Anthony Duclair (Remparts de Quebec)

RW – Sven Andrighetto (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

More News
Rouyn-Noranda - Semi-Final - Mario Pouliot Post-Game
6 hours ago
Rouyn-Noranda - Semi-Final Post-Game Interviews
6 hours ago
Huskies win semi-final and will play Mooseheads for 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia
6 hours ago
Memorial Cup | Semi-Final Preview!
13 hours ago
An Incredible Journey
13 hours ago
Rouyn-Noranda - Semi-Final - Pre-Game Interviews
14 hours ago