QMJHL names the 2019 Golden Puck Awards nominees (50th Anniversary Edition)


The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League is proud to unveil the list of finalists for the prestigious trophies that will be awarded during the 2019 Golden Puck Awards. The annual event will be held at the Capitole in Quebec City on April 3rd.

It will be a special edition as most of the trophies will be presented by the members of the QMJHL’s Top-10 players of all-time.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Rookie of the Year

  • Hendrix Lapierre – Chicoutimi Sagueneens
  • Jordan Spence – Moncton Wildcats

Marcel-Robert Trophy – Scholastic Player of the Year

  • Jérôme Gravel – Victoriaville Tigres
  • Matthew Welsh – Charlottetown Islanders
  • Rafaël Harvey-Pinard – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Émile «Butch» Bouchard Trophy – Best Defenseman

  • Charle-Édouard D’Astous –Rimouski Océanic
  • Nicolas Beaudin – Drummondville Voltigeurs
  • Noah Dobson – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Frank-J.-Selke Trophy – Sportsman of the Year

  • Gabriel Fortier – Baie-Comeau Drakkar
  • Mitchell Balmas – Cape Breton Screaming Eagles
  • Peter Abbandonato – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

 Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy

  • Alex-Olivier Voyer –Sherbrooke Phœnix
  • Charle-Édouard D’Astous –Rimouski Océanic
  • Matthew Welsh – Charlottetown Islanders

Maurice-Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year

  • Mario Pouliot – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies
  • Serge Beausoleil – Rimouski Océanic
  • Yanick Jean – Chicoutimi Sagueneens

Michael-Bossy Trophy – Top Professional Prospect

  • Jakob Pelletier – Moncton Wildcats
  • Raphaël Lavoie – Halifax Mooseheads
  • Samuel Poulin – Sherbrooke Phœnix

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the Year

  • Alexis Lafrenière – Rimouski Océanic
  • Maxime Comtois – Drummondville Voltigeurs
  • Noah Dobson – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

The Ron-Lapointe and the Michel-Brière trophies nominees will be announced later tonight during the first intermission of the Sherbrooke-Blainville-Boisbriand game on the MAtv broadcast.

Please note that the following trophies have been awarded in special pre-game ceremonies held last week: Guy-Carbonneau (Best Defensive Forward), Kevin-Lowe (Best Defensive Defenseman), Robert-Lebel (Best goals-against-average – Team), Jean-Rougeau (Regular Season Champions), Luc-Robitaille (Best Offensive Team), Michel-Bergeron (Offensive Rookie of the Year) and Raymond-Lagacé (Defensive Rookie of the year).

Here are the nominees (and winners in bold):

Guy-Carbonneau – Best Defensive Forward

  • Félix Lauzon – Drummondville Voltigeurs
  • Rafaël Harvey-Pinard – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies
  • Samuel L’Italien – Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Kevin Lowe – Best Defensive Defenseman

  • Charle-Édouard D’Astous – Rimouski Oceanic
  • Jacob Neveu – Rouyn-Noranda Huskies
  • Michal Ivan – Drummondville Voltigeurs

Michel-Bergeron Trophy – Offensive Rookie of the Year

  • Egor Serdyuk – Victoriaville Tigres
  • Hendrix Lapierre – Chicoutimi Sagueneens
  • Mikhail Abramov – Victoriaville Tigres

Raymond-Lagacé Trophy – Defensive Rookie of the Year

  • Artemi Kniazev – Chicoutimi Sagueneens
  • Jordan Spence – Moncton Wildcats
  • Lukas Cormier – Charlottetown Islanders

Robert-Lebel – Best goals-against-average – Team

  • Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Jean-Rougeau – Regular Season Champions

  • Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Luc Robitaille – Best Offensive Team

  • Drummondville Voltigeurs

You can follow all the action on April 3rd on Facebook (@QMJHL), on Twitter (@QMJHL) and on Instagram (@lhjmq_qmjhl_) by using the #GoldenPuck hashtag. TVA Sports will broadcast the Awards and induction ceremonies at a later date.

More News
2019 NHL Draft | A look at the Q's draftees from Day 2
1 days ago
QMJHL well represented on second day of 2019 NHL Draft
2 days ago
GALLERY : QMJHLers selected at 2019 NHL Draft
2 days ago
2019 NHL Draft | Samuel Bolduc Press Conference
2 days ago
2019 NHL Draft | Artemi Kniazev Press Conference
2 days ago
2019 NHL Draft | Raphaël Lavoie Press Conference
2 days ago